top of page


Association of Southeast Asian Nations

About this Committee

Established in 1967, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) aims to foster regional cooperation for peace, stability, and economic prosperity. In addition to its composition of ten member nations, ASEAN also includes Observer nations and ASEAN Dialogue partners at its yearly summits. ASEAN primarily promotes economic integration and advancement of the Southeast Asian and Nusantaran regions, as well as addressing national security concerns and territorial disputes. The Association also engages in dialogue with external partners on global issues like climate change and disaster relief. Through unity and shared values, ASEAN seeks to enhance the well-being of its citizens and improve the region's quality of life through regional collaboration.

Specialized Chair
Vice Chair
Adnan Lateef

© 2023 Houston Area Model United Nations

bottom of page